Movement Monday

 

hooping

When I was a freshman in college, I worked at a toy store. While employees were working, if there was a slow day, we would demonstrate toys. One of my favorite items to play with, when we had them in stock, (because they were considered seasonal) were the hula hoops. I started out not so great at it, but over time, and with lots of practice I got pretty good.

Recently, I was trying to think of something I could do to get my body moving, that I would also enjoy. I usually do yoga at home when I want to stretch and work out, but I was looking for something a bit more peppy. While shopping at Target, I came across a 2-lb. weighted hula hoop, and bought it.

I love my hula hoop because I can pick it up any time, put on some upbeat music, and hoop for a few songs. It gets me moving, gets my heart rate up, and also puts me in a happy mood. It is good for my body; but it doesn’t feel like exercise because I like doing it so much. As an added bonus, I have heard hooping is good for the digestive system, because the hoop massages the abdomen. The hoop I bought even comes with a sheet that has different workouts on it, including different stances for hooping, and ways to work the arms using the hoop as a weight.

Last summer, I went to a hooping demonstration given by the performer Amelio Bedelio. Check out a video of her skills, here. After the show, I found out she teaches classes only about 45 minutes away from where I live! Someday in the near future, I would love to sign up. I think it would be so much fun, and would be healthy for me too!

Do you ever use a hula hoop?

One thought on “Movement Monday

  1. Já sim e eu adoro! Quando criança era uma das minhas diversões favoritas. Aqui em casa temos dois: um pequeno e um maior. Um pra mim e outro pra minha filha Maria Eduarda. Ela adora também, mas não consegue girar com perfeição, pois só tem três aninhos de idade. Posso enviar um vídeo dela usando o bambolê?

Leave a Reply

