Reclaiming The Horizontal Stripe





(Outfit Notes: Necklace-Target/Top-TJ Maxx/Skirt-Old Navy/Stockings-too old to remember/Peep Toe Heels- Mootsies Tootsies)

Whenever I dress for a special occasion, I strive to achieve the perfect balance of looking special and not looking like I tried too hard. Effortless dressing is very difficult for me, as I tend to over think my style combinations. Last evening was my 5th wedding anniversary, and Jeramy and I went out for a nice dinner in Portland, Maine. A stripey, 3/4 sleeve top paired with heels, pretty stockings, and a flouncy skirt seemed like a good juxtaposition to me.

My Dad took the pictures of Jeramy and I together right before we left, and I forgot to have him take a full body shot to show the whole outfit together, but hopefully you can get the idea by piecing together my top half with the detail shoe/stockings shot.

I should also note that I packed a pair of jeans and my favorite comfy black flats, which I changed into after dinner for our walk around the Old Port. My heels were fun and cute, but not the best choice for a stroll along cobblestone streets. It pays to plan ahead.

Finally, I want to add that I recently have allowed horizontal stripes back into my wardrobe. Horizontals have many naysayers, who make rules that you must be a size zero to wear them. I have finally come to the conclusion that these rules are bogus, and that if I like wearing a certain print, I am gosh darn gonna do it, regardless. I am reclaiming the horizontal stripe for women of all body types.

2 thoughts on “Reclaiming The Horizontal Stripe

Leave a Reply

